21 questions…or maybe a hundred (#2)

Some were silly, some funny and some just grammatically wrong. But thank you to everyone who trusted me enough to submit something. I had a lot of messages from people who didn’t believe that their submissions were going to be anonymous. I actually enjoy trying to guess who asked what. Anyway, here goes.

Q; How do you move past criticism and insecurities?

A; There’s a saying that goes something like, “no one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” I think in life you must learn when to take criticism and when to utilize earplugs. There is constructive criticism. Don’t fight this. However, don’t let people impose whatever views they hold on you, specially when you feel strongly about it.

Insecurities are tricky. I have days when I wake up and really feel under the weather. It took me a lot of time to getting used to living in my skin and up to now I still have days when I feel like Ugly-Duckling resurrected. Back when I had major issues with my image, I had to find what it was that I loved about myself and then dwell on that. I indulged myself in a very vain exercise. I took photos. Lots of photos! 🙂 I also spent a lot of time finding out who I was and who I wanted to be. I swore off guys for a year (though that’s kinda stretched to a year and a half) because I didn’t want my identity or sense of self-worth to be defined by another being. These days, If its insecurities about my body, I just put on an outfit i know i look drop-dead in and that is almost always enough to do the trick. If its emotional, I mostly listen to music, or I channel all that into writing something:)

Q; What is currently on your summer playlist?

A; Don’t really have a season playlist but this is what’s at the top of my playlist right now

Beautiful-Mariah Carey and Miguel

Kiss me-Ed sheeran

Happiness-Mafikizolo

Mirrors-Justin

Mnatebawen-Khuli Chana (proud groupie)

Hold on we’re going home-Drake

Jika-Micasa

Seunononga-Guspy Warrior (apparently I’m delayed on this one but I just heard this song and I find it ridiculously funny)

Q; Do you have a tattoo?

A; No.  Don’t plan on either.

Q; What are some things that make you pretty sad?

A; Losing people I love. Just  two weeks ago my aunt got hospitalized. She’s now better but during that time, I got really depressed. Wasn’t even able to write or read, which to me is like second nature now.

Q; What is your favorite habit to have?

A; Reading and music. My two addictions.

Q; If someone asked you to give them random advice what would you say?

A; “You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching,Love like you’ll never be hurt,Sing like there’s nobody listening,And live like it’s heaven on earth.”

Q; Do you think people can control their own destiny? Do you control your own?

A; No and no.  My life NEVER happens the way I plan it. You’re just happier when you embrace that. Of course you can’t just sit and wait for life to happen to you but the part I have played in how events have unfolded in my life has been so insignificant. I have come to live by the saying, “True happiness is an acceptance of life as it is given to us, with it’s diminishment, mystery, irreconcilability and all.” Michael Gellert

Q; If someone was to make a movie about your life, who would you hope would play you?

A; Me! Duh!:) maybe someone like Keri Washington. She’s very “me” in Scandal and overall a great actress. And come on…she kinda looks like me!!! (if you close one eye and look really hard)

Q; What is the most money u have ever given?

A; Ummm very little I am actually embarrassed. Maybe two bucks.

Q; You seem like a very focused, level-headed young lady. Do you think that love can exist when one has a goal they must pursue?

A; Hahaha. Sometimes I think people see me as a programmed Femmibot who’s so intent on achieving what she must and has orders to shoot down anything that bars her path.

If there’s anything that life has taught me, it’s that money isn’t everything. I do have goals that I would love to see come true. Do i think being in love would prevent that from happening? No. If you maintain healthy relationships, they provide great support for you. I think relationships that are real, are the whole point to life. I wouldn’t have much to live for if I didn’t have my (very few) but inimitably amazing friends and an eccentric, dysfunctional and yet loving family.

I don’t think that any number of awards can ever fill the role relationships are supposed to. So YES! I hope love can exist when you are trying to pursue a goal because I know for a fact that my books (if I ever do get around to that) will not give satisfactory hugs when I am in need of those. Neither will they console me in times of great sadness. I would be lying if I said I had ever trusted any males who are not my brothers.  But if I found someone who I could trust wholly, there’s always space in my dreams for them.

7 comments on “21 questions…or maybe a hundred (#2)

  1. Like that one, really good but was looking forward to a hundred questions???
    Have you ever fallen in and out of love? What can you share about picking yourself up after a bad patch? Just curious

  2. you certainly don’t strike as the type to have given just $2…..lol

  3. chiposi says:

    interesting

Leave a Reply

